A Year in Review

By Jacquelene Hollier-Jackson
Programs Assistant

They say time flies, and it has never been truer. In June of 2016 I began a journey and I didn’t know where it would lead me. I started working at AIHFS primarily with the Sacred Bundle Program, The Youth Program, Cultural Services and the Healthy Start Program. I also worked on projects that included members of the Behavioral Health Department. I have learned so much and I am so grateful to be able to look back on this year and share a few of my experiences with you.

Fall camp 2016 with the Youth Group: it was an amazing experience, connecting with the youth, making fun crafts including the awesome mocs I learned to make.

I remember my first day working at the agency, I was sitting in the Admin building, doing training, and meeting almost everyone who was on staff. I toured around the agency learning where everything was and meeting everyone in the pod, front end, medical, basically everywhere. I have learned lessons from the people and programs here. I never thought sitting in that desk and taking the tour would lead me to the journey I was on.

The lessons I have learned are priceless gems that I will always carry in my heart no matter how far I travel from AIHFS. I have learned the kind of woman that I want to be; I want to be a woman who exemplifies traditional values; love, wisdom, humility, respect, honesty, truth, and bravery (check out this link for more info on the 7 grandfather teachings http://ojibweresources.weebly.com/ojibwe-teachings–the-7-grandfathers.html) . I choose to love unconditionally, acquire wisdom every day, be humble in all endeavors, respect myself and others, be honest, be truthful in all aspects of life, and to be brave in every step that I take. These gems are not only a part of my memories but they will forever be a part of my spirit.

I have also acquired amazing skills that I will always have moving forward. I was able to attend trainings and receive certifications in SafeTALK, ASIST, and Youth Mental Health First Aid for the roles I have filled here as a leader for the youth group, a Sacred Bundle Screener, but most importantly an active member of this community.  If you are interested in learning more about those trainings or in attending them, contact Lauren Lockhart, our Sacred Bundle Program Manager, at llockhart@aihfs.org or Karen Marshall, our Training and Outreach Coordinator, at kmarshall@aihfs.org . Also, for more information, check out these links!
Youth Mental Health First Aid  https://www.mentalhealthfirstaid.org/cs/take-a-course/course-types/youth/
Livingworks Trainings and Info (safeTALK & ASIST) https://www.livingworks.net/

I have learned skills that are part of my culture as a Muscogee Creek Nation woman. One skill that I have learned that has been very valuable has been beadwork. I wrote a blog last month about beadwork specifically and my growth and skill in this art over the last year is really mind blowing. I am so honored to be able to do the art of my ancestors.

Above is my first ever beading project from June of 2016. Below is an elephant pin I made for my grand-mother in October of 2016.

I will keep this short and sweet and say Mvto (Thank-you). I will close with my favorite quote, “If you think you can or if you think you can’t, you’re right.”

2 thoughts on “A Year in Review

  1. Lani, you are such a great role model for young people (and me!). I am so grateful for you and so proud of all the great things you are doing! Love, Nickole

Leave a Reply

